The Prompt and the Progress – Day Fifteen, Poem Fifteen

I arranged the prompts by how harsh they felt and how much they would take me through my darkness to find my light. Did the “harder” ones first and now I am transitioning to the “easier” ones. Today’s work…

PROMPT: Write what has grown in place of her heart.

This time I am going to write about ALL of “us” as in what I know for myself and from hearing and reading the stories of other survivors of assault.

For some of us it is about being harmed by the trusted friend or lover, for others it is the stranger in the dark. For some of us it is sexual, some physical, some mental. We are a multitude of dark facets in a large gemstone. Some can fully heal and move on, most of us can only learn how not to fall apart.

THE “HER” WHOSE HEART HAS BEEN REPLACED…
In my mind’s eye I am seeing this composite woman/girl. My Euro-centric education makes me want her to be a princess/queen/mermaid/mythical, but I know that she is above and beyond all that. She started off in the form of a mere mortal and holds that form most of the time, but she is a towering goddess of flame and might (even if she may not know it about herself).

THE HEART…
It was blood and muscle and life… then it was crushed and broken… that last phrase makes me want to make a bionic heart but I know that the new heart is greater than that… something gorgeous and valuable and strong… The “grown” part of the prompt brings to mind the thorn forest in sleeping beauty… over grown and harsh and unapproachable… I think I may incorporate that…

so… on to the poeming…

~~~~~~~

What is your process when you write? Is there anything that is your standard “go-to” method? Do you use prompts or just write from your own thoughts? I would love to hear your take on this in the comments!

Thanks for reading! ^_^

P.S.
If you would like to read these poems I’m writing, I plan on doing the annual chapbook as a perfect bound book and all profits will be divided evenly between Rachel McKibbens’ Outlast Project and the local women’s shelter in my area.  If you would like to pre-order this book, you can do so for $15 via PayPal to nmnance@gmail.com and please be sure to include your shipping address. THANK YOU!

PPS… I’m planning on doing a Kickstarter for the preorders soon so stay tuned for that! :-)

 

keep-calm-and-write-poetry-47-257x300

Leave a comment